Friday, May 9, 2014

Hyperemesis Gravidarum...

Yes, I know, it sounds like a Harry Potter spell.

It translates, in medical terminology, to something like, excessive vomiting in pregnancy.

Yay! -_-

I woke up in the middle of the night, April 29th, seriously feeling a combination of falling off the bed, spinning on a tilt-a-whirl for entirely too long, and the need to throw up. I laid there as still as I could for a little while trying to decide what to do and trying not to panic. I finally decided to wake Manda up, as calmly as I could and ask her for help.

She took my blood pressure, it was a little low, but not too low. It's been running low since I've been pregnant. Not so low that it's a concern.

Immediately after I sat up in bed, I was sick. I knew it was "morning" sickness. The dizziness slowed a little bit, but I was glad my brother had already offered to be there the next day so I had a ride to my next ultrasound.

My ultrasound went great! Baby is growing. Heartbeat looked good. The doctor was once again pleased with our progress. And, Manda's mom got to go so she could see the heartbeat and she loved it. I talked a little with my fertility doctor and then the nurse about my nausea and dizziness. They were not concerned with either, and gave me a script for Zofran, to help with nausea.

The next morning was my first OB appointment, an intake and medical history with a nurse. I was so lucky Logan was still there because I was still very dizzy and nauseous. It was a long appointment but they covered all the bases. I told them I felt awful so they got me ice chips, mints, gum, offered a trash can, they were very nice. They ordered labs to check on everything, making sure I wasn't hypoglycemic, etc.

I then only got sicker. I spent all day, every day in bed or in the bathroom. Zofran didn't do a thing for me. Then one day after Manda got home from work we found ourselves in the ER for fluids and hopefully for some advice on the dizziness. We were there about 5 hours. They gave me Reglan, a different drug for nausea. The doctor eventually said that the dizziness was a nutrition issue and that I needed to eat.

Wait a minute! The dizziness showed up out of the blue, in the middle of the night, after I've been eating more healthy than ever before. I didn't buy it. But we went on our way, hoping the Reglan would at least allow me to eat something.

The next several days were up and down. A couple of very bad days, a couple days where I could eat a little bit, but continuous dizziness.

This past week, my mom has spent every day with me while Amanda was at work. I've been pretty much on bed rest except to go to the bathroom and the few occasional assisted showers. It's terrible! I don't feel safe walking around the house because my dizziness may make me fall. My nausea has been much better though.

Yesterday I finally got fed up, and Amanda was worried about me. My being sick was calmed by the new medication but the dizzy remained. So I called my OB and got in at 4 yesterday. They asked tons of questions, listened to all of my complaints and symptoms, checked several things, said all of my labs came back normal and decided...
I have benign vertigo. Caused from pregnancy. He literally said that this isn't unheard of, not really common, I'm just unlucky enough to have it. He said it will go away as my pregnancy progresses. He also said that taking Benadryl with my Reglan every six hours might help with the dizziness or at least make me more comfortable.

So, here we are, the Saturday before my very first Mother's day. Still in bed, still dizzy (although I've been feeling a little better today), and patiently waiting. This time, we're waiting for the dizziness to subside so I can at least live a little bit normal while I grow a baby :-)

Next ultrasound is Tuesday, May 13th. I'll be 9 weeks along. That's more than 20% ;-P