Well, almost bed rest.
At my appointments this week, I was told to monitor my blood pressure at home. If it went above 140/90, I needed to call and tell them.
Today I saw 144/102. Yikes. I decided to take a nap and check it afterwards to see if it would change drastically. 140/101 after my nap. Ugh. Time to call the doctor.
They told me to go to the OB triage at the hospital. Yikes. "Triage" makes this suddenly more serious, suddenly more scary.
They were quick to see me. Put me in a hospital gown and strapped the baby heart rate monitor to me. Baby sounded so good! Her heart rate was strong and at a good rate the entire time. My blood pressure was 140/89 once I was there. Better than it was at home!
After being there for about 4.5 hours or so, this is what I know:
-I didn't have my baby tonight.
-I likely have gestational hypertension not preeclampsia, which is a good thing.
-I have to check my BP every day and if it goes to 160 and/or 110, I must call the doctor and go back to triage.
-I can no longer do much. The doctor said, "Just chill. Watch all the movies you want, read all the books you want. Don't go to Meijers." She literally said Meijers. Kind of funny, that's the place I'm most likely to go.
-I have tons of baby laundry to do, and am not allowed to go up and down the stairs to do it.
-I can no longer travel very far. No more going to Flint. I won't be able to go to my family's Thanksgiving. Pretty much Lansing-stuck from here on out.
-The goal is to do little activity to keep my BP from going to high.
-I'm likely to have a new baby in two or three weeks. Not for sure, but likely.
-My next appointment is Wednesday, the 19th, and I'll be monitored and we'll discuss next steps.
So, yikes. But my doctor says to me, "healthy baby, healthy mom". Sounds like a good motto to me :) And, I'm gonna be a new momma very soon. Yikes :) I can't wait :)
No comments:
Post a Comment